Western Slope Council

The Western Slope council is a convener of residents, local businesses and waste professionals from several surrounding counties including Delta, La Plata, Mesa, Montrose, San Miguel, Ouray, Pitkin and Gunnison. Over the past year, this council has been able to collect vital recycling data for the region to support the producer responsibility needs assessment, discussed recycling upgrades for the region, and has hosted speakers that have helped support the development of and share access to resources for recycling in the region. 

2024 Western Slope Council Meetings & Notes

February 2nd - NOTES
With special guests: Adam Hill, Plastic Pick-Up, and Cameron Garcia, Pitkin County Landfill

  1. Attendee Introductions and Member Updates
  2. 2024 Western Slope Council Project Ideas
    1. C&D Policy Tool Kit Overview
      1. C&D waste audit, identify C&D generators, identify existing diversion options, identify highest diversion potential
    2. Plastics collection discussion
    3. Compost growth – collection, compost use
    4. Reuse program – Pitkin County's "The Motherlode Mercantile"
  3. Recycle Colorado Updates
    1. Current legislative cycle
    2. Summit
    3. USCC COTC May 13-17

May 23rd, 8:30am - 10:30am - RSVP

August 9th, 8:30am - 10:30am - RSVP

December 6th, 8:30am - 10:30am - RSVP

2023 Western Slope Council Meetings and Notes

March 3rd - A look at the results from the recycling data collection project

  • Notes from this Meeting

June 2nd - Western Slope Council Updates

September 1st - Presentation from Carla Bergstrom on the Municipal Measurement Program and Laurie Johnson and Eric Heyboer on the Circular Economy Development Center

  • Watch the Circular Economy Development Center Presentation Recording from Circular Colorado during the C&D Council meeting (Same presentation)
  • More information on the Municipal Measurement Program

December 1st - Presentation from Laurie Batchelder Adams on the MRF feasibility Study for the Western Slope/Grand Junction area

  • Notes from this meeting
  • Congrats to Jennifer Richardson for being named the 2024 Council Chair and Celene Peck-Andreano our new Recorder
  • If you are interested in the Vice-Chair role, please send us an email

Western Slope Council Leadership

Chair: Jennifer Richardson, Mesa County
Vice Chair: OPEN - Please email us if interested
Celene Peck-Andreano, Glass to Glass Denver
Recycle Colorado Board Liaison: Jennifer Richardson, Mesa County