The Recycle Colorado Policy Committee works on local and state policy to advance waste diversion through reuse/remanufacturing and composting.

If you are interested in more closely tracking the status of on-going legislation in Colorado, link to the General Assembly website www.leg.colorado.gov. From there you can also link to Colorado house and senate member directories. Find out who your representatives are with Find My Legislator.

Recycle Colorado’s 2019 Legislative Priorities (PDF)

Interim Session

Zero Waste and Recycling Interim Study Committee

The Zero Waste and Recycling Interim Study Committee advanced two bipartisan proposals in October 2019 to improve the state’s recycling rate. One bill incentivizes the development of new end-market businesses for recycled materials and creates a public education campaign on recycling. The second bill requires the state to develop a comprehensive organics management plan.

Fact Sheets

SB19-192 Front Range Waste Diversion Enterprise Grant Program - "Vote for increased recycling in the Front Range" (PDF).
Manufacturing Sales and Use Tax Exemption for Recyclers (PDF)
Architectural Paint Stewardship Program (PDF)
Electronic Devices Banned from Landfills (PDF)

RREO Grants and Rebates

The grant program and rebate program are part of Colorado’s Recycling Resources Economic Opportunity Act of 2007.

Sector representatives are Recycle Colorado members’ link to the Policy Committee

Members with questions about the Policy Committee or current legislation can contact their respective Policy Committee sector representative:

Front Range:

  • Brandy Moe (processor)
  • Randy Moorman (non-profit, Boulder County)
  • Laurie Batchelder Adams (consultant, rural)
  • Gary Grewal (non-recycle business, Denver)
  • Charlotte Pitt (local government, Denver)
  • Honore Depew (local government, Fort Collins)


  • Sarah Jones (non-profit, Routt County)
  • Alyssa Reindel (hauler, Pitkin and Garfield counties)

Eastern Colorado:

  • Matt Chrisp (local government, Logan County)
  • Reva Phillips (non-profit, southeast)

Western Colorado:

  • Kris Holstrom (local government, San Miguel County)

Southern Colorado:

  • Christy Patterson (local government, hauler, Custer County)


  • Scott Hutchings (hauler)


  • David Fridland (compost product business)