The Recycle Colorado Policy Committee works on local and state policy to advance waste diversion through reuse, remanufacturing and composting.

Chair: Randy Moorman, Eco-Cycle
Vice Chair: Jenifer Freeman, Constellation Strategies
Vice Chair: Brandy Moe, Republic Services
Recorder: Nick Wilson, West Highland Mangement Group

2024 Meeting Schedule & Notes

  • January 4th - NOTES
  • February 1st - NOTES
  • February 27th- LOBBY DAY
  • March 7th, 1:30pm-2:30pm - RSVP
  • April 4th, 1:30pm-2:30pm - RSVP
  • May 2nd, 1:30pm-2:30pm - RSVP
  • June 6th, 1:30pm-2:30pm - May occur during Summit for Recycling Policy Retreat
  • July 4th, 1:30pm-2:30pm - RSVP
  • August 1st, 1:30pm-2:30pm - RSVP
  • September 5th, 1:30pm-2:30pm - RSVP
  • October 3rd, 1:30pm-2:30pm - RSVP
  • November 7th, 1:30pm-2:30pm - RSVP
  • December 5th, 1:30pm-2:30pm - RSVP

Policy Committee Slack Guideline

The Recycle Colorado Policy Committee has developed a new sector rep plan to help improve communication between policy committee members, policy leadership, board members and staff. The plan includes utilizing a new form of communication platform called “Slack”. Slack is an online and desktop platform that allows individuals from various organizations and businesses to communicate through a dedicated platform outside of email and searchable by members. 

Slack Guideline & How to Join

Policy Committee Sectors

Local Government - Front Range: Local Jurisdictions within the Front Range (Adams, Arapahoe, Boulder, Broomfield, Denver, Douglas, Elbert, El Paso, Jefferson, Larimer, Pueblo, Teller or Weld Counties)

Local Government - Rural/Mountain: Local jurisdictions located outside of the Front Range counties.

Nonprofit: Organizations that are recognized as 501c (3) by the Federal government. 

Government Landfill or Material Recovery Facilities (MRF): Government operated and/or owned facility which accepts waste materials to be buried in a licensed landfill or which accepts and sorts materials to be recycled or repurposed.

Hauler: Businesses which offer the service of transporting waste materials (including recycling and compost).

Landfill and/or Material Recovery Facilities (MRF): Landfills accept waste materials to be buried in a licensed landfill. A MRF accepts and sorts materials to be recycled or repurposed.

Manufacturers: Private facilities which manufacture goods (using virgin and/or recycled materials) to be sold.

Processors & Remanufacturers: Facility or operation which processes waste materials for remanufacturing or remanufacturers captured waste materials into new products. 

Large Generator: Facility which regularly produces large volumes of waste materials (including recyclables and organics). For example: Universities & Colleges, Large institutions, Resorts, Recycling Brokers

General Business: For profit companies which do not have a business directly tied to waste, recycling, or organics transportation or processing. For example: Retail, Restaurants, Equipment suppliers, Technology

Compost/Organics Processor: A licensed facility which accepts organic materials to be processed into a soil amendment.

Consultant: An individual or organization which offers consulting services to businesses and/or governments 

Individual: A person who joins on behalf of themselves and is not representing an organization, government, or business.